April 29, 2015

Hollow City:Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Series #2 REVIEW

Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children #2)


This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.
Complete with dozens of newly discovered (and thoroughly mesmerizing) vintage photographs, this new adventure will delight readers of all ages.

I have been on a book slump for a long time now and this sequel/book saved my life! Ransom Rigg never fails to amaze me. If you loved the first book, I am so sure you will absolutely love this even more! This review is going to be short and sweet. So please for those who hasn't read the first book yet, go on and read it already! :)

I'd become a mystery they would never solve. A wound that would that would never heal.


Riveting story telling. Ransom is one of my favorite authors in the history.  The plot was unpredictable and so are the characters. The story spread through out from the main character to the supporting as well.  I dont know how the author did it but he did. And I found myself laughing out loud while reading this, its just those times where its just uncontrollable. So you have been warned, just incase you read it while travelling.  Not only that, I also was in tears! Jacob was my favorite, he is flawed but his character was so real. And Emma was the bravest girl I have ever met in a book. Loved loved every character in this book! The romance was just enough, and the plot's twists and turns was so engrossing that It was so hard to put this book down.


And the farther away she got, the faster it spun, like there was an invisible cord unreeling from it that stretched between us, and if she went too far it would snap- and kill me.  I wondered if this strange, sweet pain was love.


The story picked up where it was left off. So I didn't have any problems remembering who was who and which was which. The journey of Jacob and company will take you to another level of reading experience. RECOMMENDED! Happy reading! x








February 23, 2013

Ashes and Ice by Rochelle Maya Callen

She is desperate to remember.
He is aching to forget.
Together, they are not broken.
But together, one may not survive.

​Jade wakes up with no memory of her past and blood on her hands.

Plagued by wicked thoughts, she searches for answers. Instead, she finds a boy who doesn't offer her answers, but hope. But sometimes, when nightmares turn into reality and death follows you everywhere, hope is not enough.

LUST. LOVE. LOSS. Sometimes, all that is left are Ashes and Ice.




 Ashes & Ice by Rochelle Maya Callen +Goodreads
 Series: Ashes & Ice #1
 Published February 4th 2013 by C&C Legacy Publishing

"I hope it's sunny at my funeral."
And if I really am wicked, I hope that day comes sooner rather than later.
Wow, that ending.. Didn't see that coming.  
So I guess you could say I enjoyed this book so much. I have always fascinated with angels and demons stories especially when it has a romance twist in it. It started with a young girl named Jade who couldn't remember her past. But Jade with her green ice and no memories,  isn't your average normal girl. And then she met this broken young boy Connor along the way. And from there the story begins..
Ring around the rosie, a pocket full of posies. Ashes, ashes. We all fall down.
Though I should mention that the first half of the book seemed like it didn't actually have a plot and that there were times that I couldn't understand what was happening, only when it get to the other half that I finally understood everything. I know it might sound terrible, but you see, reading Connor's and Jade's POV were good enough for me. I for once couldn't put the book down. To make it short, these two were the highlights of this book. Amazing characters. Connor is my favorite. I love him! He is broken and I just wanted to give him a hug.. poor kid. Also, I was hooked with the dark and somber tone of the story.

We cry in our own rooms, remembering a man who will never be here again.
The house creaks. Maybe it feels the weight of our grief, maybe the floorboards are buckling because the burden is too heavy.
Jade is kind of hard for me to explain but she's both good and wicked!
Now I see him clearly, even through the rain and distance, I see him perfectly. Tears try to blend in with the rain, but fail. I see his tears. His precious, pained tears. 
And all I can do is stare.
   Something within me shifts.
Annoyance to curiosity,
Impatience to sympathy.
Reluctance to desire---desire to understand how and why he can weep like the rain.

Well the thing about this book is I cant tell much more as I'm afraid I would give away so much and mess it up for you. The writing was definitely beautiful and captivating and so full of emotions. I would have given this book 5 stars if not for those little confusing moments and a little lack of details. But other than that this book was awesome. Loved the characters, loved the words and that ending LOVED IT.. I am dying for the second book! I'm so glad I read this, and sooo many lovely quotes too check it out.

Quotes from Ashes and Ice
Love is a sliver of sunlight peeking through the darkness; a whisper of hope when all is lost.
Now the world will see what I am. Vulnerable. Ugly. Evil. Lost. Sad. Angry. Numb.
And dead.

Connor's hand, rough with calluses, holds mine. If I had a heart, it would be in my hand--a solemn offering to be held in the palm of his, desperate to be comforted and held like a soft, delicate thing.
 His heartbeat is the most beautiful sound in the world.
 People can change... no matter where they come from, no matter where they think they ought to go, people can make their own way.
 That's all you need, cher. A few people in your life who fill it up and give you good memories to hold onto.
 Wasting time is a stupid thing to do in this big ol' ugly world.


February 2, 2013

The Archived by Victoria Schwab


 Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.

Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures that only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was, a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often-violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a useful tool for staying alive.

Being a Keeper isn't just dangerous-it's a constant reminder of those Mac has lost. Da's death was hard enough, but now her little brother is gone too. Mac starts to wonder about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. And yet, someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself might crumble and fall.

In this haunting, richly imagined novel, Victoria Schwab reveals the thin lines between past and present, love and pain, trust and deceit, unbearable loss and hard-won redemption.
 The Archived by Victoria Schwab
Series: The Archived #1
Published January 22nd 2013 by Hyperion
Buy it: Book Depository free shipping

He fought the men and he slayed the
monsters and he bested the gods, and at
last the hero, having conquered all,
earned the thing that he wanted most. To
go home.
This book is simply AMAZING. It's been awhile since I've read a book like this-imaginative and delicious, and it's about time! And I am quite surprised how UNIQUE this book turned out, a different take on the DEAD that we normally read. Yes, I'm talking about zombies. Atleast that's what I've understood. Up until now, I'm still awe-struck with how flippin good this book is. The premise was enough for me to pine for this book, but for a book to live up to my expectations, boy I was over the moon.
Do not stand at my grave
and weep
I am not there; I do not sleep. - Mary Elizabeth Frye
The author's writing is just beautiful, with all the luscious words, I devoured every pages in one day. It started with a heartfelt letter/diary/memory from our girl Mackenzie to her already dead grandfather Da. And then from Mackenzie's point of view. So basically it was laid out in two different perspective but from the same character, if I'm making any sense. I thought that was just very clever because it serves a purpose.
Stories about winding halls, and invisible doors, and places are kept like books on shelves. Each time you finish a story, you make me tell it back to you, as if you're afraid I will forget.
I never do.
 Next is the world-building. I love how Victoria created such a vivid wonderful world like this. I'd like to be in it. It made me think it could be real.  I could picture the Coronado hotel-turned-apartment building, huge and ancient. The Archive, is another world where they stack all the dead, History. But there's also the Narrows, dark hallways with so many doors, and roaming History. And the Outer, which basically our world. But the Archive is not complete without The Librarians. How cool is that? But they are not your ordinary Librarians. How come? Well you have to read it and see for yourself.
"The only things the tree places have in common," you say, "are doors. Doors in, doors out.And doors need keys."
The characters were just made of awesome. From the main to the supporting characters. I love Mackenzie, I thought she's one of the best main character out there. She's a kickass, smart and likeable heroine but flawed(in a good way). Because that's how real person is, flawed, imperfect. Mackenzie is still grieving for her brother, and reading her words made my heart ache for her. I felt bad for what she was going through and proud of her for being strong despite everything that happened. Then there's Wesley, how do I describe this boy with a goth look just only so he can irritate his own father? *SQUEALS*! That is all. And Roland, I think he is awesome too, the Librarian with the red Chucks. And Da, that even if he's dead, I thought he was such a great character from Mackenzie's retelling her memories of him.

It was a sea of brick below me. But if I looked up, I could have been anywhere.

I think I'll end my gushing here, don't want to spoil your reading! :) The Archived  is one of my favorite read of all time. It was so refreshing and just captivating. This book brought so many emotions out of me and I love this book for that. I think I would recommend this book for those who loves paranormal with romance, and murder mystery twists.

Quotes from The Archived
  “Not everything holds memories,” you
say. “Not every memory’s worth holding."
Da used to say that only fools and cowards
scorned fear. Fear keeps you alive.
“You know, the
thing about a book like this is that it’s meant to be
heard, not read.”
He raises a brow. “I sound like a rock band?”
“Don’t look so flattered. You sound like a rock
band being thrown out of a truck."
 "Keep your lies clean, and your worlds as far apart as possible.”

“What if I mess up?”
“Oh, you will. You’ll mess up, you’ll
make mistakes, you’ll break things. Some
you’ll be able to piece together, and
others you’ll lose. That’s all a given.
But there’s only one thing you have to do
for me.”
“What’s that?”
“Stay alive long enough to mess up
again.”


January 23, 2013

Scatterheart by Lili Wilkinson

The turnkey pushed Hannah into the cell, and clanged the door shut behind her. Hannah’s eyes stung and she felt a heavy churning in her belly. The smell of urine, vomit, sweat and rotting flesh was overpowering, and she broke out in a hot, prickly sweat, despite the icy night.


1814, London Town. Hannah Cheshire - wealthy and spoiled - has fallen from grace. Punishment: transportation to the colony of New South Wales.








Published January 15th 2009 by Coppenrath Verlag

Dark and gritty.
This book was amazing. Couldn't put it down. There were never a time that I got bored with it. I enjoyed this book so much I thought it was impressively written. A YA historical novel with a combination of romance and suspense. I came across this book a year after I moved here in Australia, and hardly knew its history but because of this book I kind of research for more. Set in Old London, where convicts either get hanged or transported in the place called New South Wales which I believe is here in Australia (east o'f the sun and west o' the moon). The author said that some of the things that happened in her book are unfortunately not from her imagination, that they all happened right here in Australia. Ofcourse some of it are just fiction.

Hannah is a very interesting female character. She isn't the one you will like straight away, but eventually you will. Since she came from a family of Quality, she was a spoiled and selfish girl. I think that what makes the story a lot better. Our Hannah is obviously flawed, which made me love this book even more. Her  character development is fantastic.

Young Thomas Behr was Hanna's tutor, a commoner. One day, her father decided to sack Thomas, for he believed Thomas is no longer needed his service. Then one night, Hannah's father left and never came back, Thomas who loves her so much came for Hannah and offered her a marriage and to come with him to NSW. but Hannah who was misled by his father, said no that she is only to marry someone like her, of Quality and that her father will come home soon. Thomas whose heart was broken by this fled and left. From there, her life will never be the same again....her journey took a horrifying turn.

How far would you go to make things right and get back things to the way they were before?
Would you choose to love someone you expect to have everything you want?
Well I hope I'm making sense up there im so all over this book that I dont know whats the right word to describe it. And by the way, Lovely cover isn't it?
Quotes from Scatterheart:

"Once upon a time, there was a girl called Scatterheart, who was selfish and vain, with a heart as fickle as the changing winds...."
Hannah looked indignant.'Certainly not. I'm not supposed to be here. It's all a mistake. I havent done anythng wrong.' Long Meg laughed her great roar of a laugh again.' Sure you aint. None of us have, have we lads?' She spread her arms wide. One or two people acknowledged her with a nod or a wink. She turned to Hannah.'We's all innocent, pet. All of us.
'Dont you think its time for you to get a real job, Thomas?'he said. 'Youve been here for nearly four years, dangling after my daughter. Its getting unseemly. You should go and find yourself some pretty serving wench to marry. Some who is closer to your own station of life.'
                    
How far would you go to make things right and bring back things the way they were before?
Would you choose to love someone you expect to have everything you want ?
RECOMMENDED.

January 22, 2013

Back To The Future Giveaway Hop CLOSED

Back to the Future - A Giveaway Hop Across Time January 22nd to 28th hosted by I Am A Reader Co-hosted by Book Haven Extraordinaire 

 My 2nd Blogoversary is coming very soon (February) so this is more like my early celebration. There are more giveaways to come so don't forget to come by again next time.



My Back to the Future Giveaway International: You have to pick 1 book only. Either Scatterheart by Lili Wilkinson which is a historical fiction novel with romance twist, I love this book! And the other is one of my favorite Slated by Teri Terry, a futuristic fiction novel about a young girl whose memory had been erased completely by the Lorders

January 18, 2013

Dreaming of Books Giveaway Hop CLOSED



 Hello! Welcome to the 3rd Annual Dreaming of Books Giveaway Hop January 18th to 24th Hosted by I Am Reader, Not A Writer and Co-hosted by Reviews by Martha's Bookshelf. This is my first time to participate in this event so I am very excited. Make sure you check out the rest of the participants below to win more prizes! So good luck everyone.











Giveaway: $10 book from The Book Depository. And it's International. :)
 Please use the Rafflecopter. And also, the more entries the more chances of winning. :)

January 4, 2013

Ficbookreviews Highlight: Author Edition + A Fabulous Giveaway {Closed}

Hello guys, welcome to our Highlight event! Today we have Kathleen Peacock, Cassandra Rose Clarke, Aimee Carter and Laura Bickle to answer 2 random questions. Plus a hardback copy of Deadly Hemlock + signed bookplate and The Assassin's Curse giveaway and a surprise gift for the lucky winner. Thank you so much authors for participating! And enjoy reading my lovely readers. x